Paris Calligrammes

Paris Calligrammes

Direction: Ulrike Ottinger

DocumentaryMovieCinema

Deutschland, Frankreich 2019
129 Min.

Die Rüden Sing Me A Song

zero one film in Coproduction with Ideale Audience (F).
Funded by BKM, Medienboard Berlin Brandenburg, FFA, DFFF and CNC (F).

Rental: Real Fiction Filmverleih

World Premiere: 22.02.2020, Berlinale

Trailer

Content

In a rich torrent of archival audio and visuals, paired with extracts from her own artworks and films, Ottinger resurrects the old Saint-Germain- des-Prés and Latin Quarter, with their literary cafés and jazz clubs, and revisits encounters with Jewish exiles, life with her artistic community, the worldviews of Parisian ethnologists and philosophers, the political upheavals of the Algerian War and May 1968, and the legacy of the colonial era. “I followed the footsteps of my heroines and heroes,” Ottinger narrates. “Wherever I found them, they will appear in this film too.”

,,In 1962, as a young artist, I came to live and work in Paris. That period until 1969, when I left the city, was not only one of the most formative for me, it was also an era of intellectual, political, and social upheaval in modern history. The film PARIS CALLIGRAMMES combines my personal memories of the 1960s with a portrait of the city and a social cartography of the age. Like Guillaume Appolinaire’s poetry collection Calli- grammes: Poèmes de la paix et de la guerre (Calligrams: Poems of Peace and War), I have given it the form of a filmic “picture-poem” (calligram) in which the words and images, complemented by language, sound, and music, form a mosaic that emerges from the vivacity of those exciting years while speaking to the fragility of all cultural and political achievements. The Ariadne thread through the film is a walk across Paris with many stops where topics are raised out of any chronological order. In the tradition of the flâneur, I visit focal points in the city that were meaningful to me personally and to the story of the 1960s, sites where significant political events transpired, important cultural and artistic encounters occurred, and new communal ways of life evolved. Not only was Paris in that time a “melting pot” of intellectuals and artists from all over the world, it was also undergoing the difficult political era of decolonization. The War in Algeria, and later the Vietnam War, over-shadowed the period of reawakening after the Second World War and brought people from the colonies and political conflicts into the capital. Thus my friendships that developed in those years were so international and colorful, so exciting and intense.” (Ulrike Ottinger)

News

Nomination

"Paris Calligrammes" nominated for the German Documentary Film Award 2020

PARIS CALLIGRAMMES has high hopes for the German Documentary Film Award 2020. We are delighted that the jury has nominated the film by Ulrike Ottinger for the award presented by SWR. In PARIS CALLIGRAMMES the artist and filmmaker talks about her life in Paris in the 1960s and how the city has shaped her work until today. The world premiere took place at the Berlinale 2020, but cinema exploitation was interrupted by the Corona crisis. But PARIS CALLIGRAMMES will be shown in cinema soon. You will find the dates on our website and in our social media channels on Instagram and Facebook.

Awards

Berlinale - Berlin International Film Festival

Berlinale Kamera für Ulrike Ottinger

SWR Dokufestival

Preis für einen Film über Künstlerinnen und Künstler oder die Entstehung von Kunst der Norbert Daldrop Förderung für Kunst und Kultur

Credits

written and directed by Ulrike Ottinger
DoP: Ulrike Ottinger
Editing: Anette Fleming
Sounddesign & Re-Recording Mix: Detlef Schitto
Original Sound: Timothée Alazraki
Archive: Marguerite Vappereau
Line Producer: Corina Ziller, Claire Lion
Commissioning Editor ZDF/3sat: Udo Bremer
Coproducers: Pierre-Olivier Bardet, Gérald Collas
Producers: Thomas Kufus, Kornelia Theune

Paris Calligrammes

Paris Calligrammes

Regie: Ulrike Ottinger

DokuFilmKino

Deutschland, Frankreich 2019

Die Rüden Sing Me A Song

zero one film in Koproduktion mit Ideale Audience (F), INA (F).
Gefördert von BKM, Medienboard Berlin Brandenburg, FFA, DFFF und CNC (F).

Verleih: Real Fiction Filmverleih

Weltpremiere: 22.02.2020, Berlinale

Trailer

Inhalt

In einem dichten Strom aus akustischem und visuellem Archivmaterial, verknüpft mit eigenen künstlerischen und filmischen Arbeiten, lässt Ottinger Saint-Germain-des-Prés und Quartier Latin mit ihren Literatencafés und Jazzkellern, die Begegnung mit Vertretern des jüdischen Exils, das Zusammenleben mit ihren Künstler- freunden, die Gedankenwelt der Pariser Ethnologen und Philosophen, die politischen Umwälzungen des Algerienkrieges und des Mai 68 und das Erbe der kolonialen Zeit wieder aufleben. „Ich folgte den Spuren meiner Heldinnen und Helden“, erzählt Ottinger, „und wo immer ich sie fand, werden sie in diesem Film erscheinen.“

,,1962 kam ich als junge Künstlerin nach Paris, um dort zu leben und zu arbeiten. Die Zeit bis 1969, als ich die Stadt wieder verließ, wurde nicht nur für mich zu einer der prägendsten Phasen, sondern war auch zeitgeschichtlich eine Epoche der geistigen, politischen und gesellschaftlichen Umbrüche. Der Film PARIS CALLIGRAMMES ver- eint meine persönlichen Erinnerungen an die 1960er Jahre mit einem Porträt der Stadt und einem Soziogramm der Zeit. Der Ariadnefaden durch den Film ist ein Gang durch Paris mit vielen Stationen, an denen jeweils ein Thema in nicht chronologischer Form aufgegriffen wird. In der Tradition der Flanerie suche ich Brennpunkte der Stadt auf, die für mich persönlich wie auch für die 1960er Jahre bedeutsam waren, da sich dort entscheidende politische Ereignisse abspielten, wichtige kulturelle und künstlerische Begegnungen stattfanden oder sich neue soziale Formen des Lebens entfalteten. Paris war zu dieser Zeit aber nicht nur „melting pot“ der Intellektuellen und Künstler aus aller Welt, sondern durchlief die schwierige politische Phase der Dekolonisierung. Der Algerienkrieg überschattete wie später der Vietnamkrieg die Aufbruchphase nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg und brachte die Menschen aus den Kolonien und die politischen Konflikte in die Hauptstadt. Meine Freundschaften, die sich in diesen Zeiten ent- wickeln, waren daher so international und bunt, wie spannungsreich und intensiv.“ (Ulrike Ottinger)

News

„Paris Calligrammes“ für den Deutschen Dokumentarfilmpreis 2020 nominiert

Nominierung

„Paris Calligrammes“ für den Deutschen Dokumentarfilmpreis 2020 nominiert

PARIS CALLIGRAMMES kann sich Hoffnungen auf den Deutschen Dokumentarfilmpreis 2020 machen. Wir freuen uns, dass die Jury den Film von Ulrike Ottinger für die vom SWR vergebene Auszeichnung nominiert hat. In PARIS CALLIGRAMMES erzählt die Künstlerin und Filmemacherin von ihrem Leben in Paris in den 1960er Jahren und wie die Stadt ihr Schaffen bis heute prägt. Die Weltpremiere fand auf der Berlinale 2020 statt, die Kinoauswertung wurde dann allerdings durch die Corona-Krise unterbrochen. Doch PARIS CALLIGRAMMES soll bald wieder im Kino zu sehen sein. Die Termine finden Sie demnächst auf unserer Website und in unseren Social-Media-Kanälen auf Instagram und Facebook.

Credits

Buch, Regie & Kamera: Ulrike Ottinger
Schnitt: Anette Fleming
Sounddesign & Mischung: Detlef Schitto
O-Ton: Timothée Alazraki
Archiv: Marguerite Vappereau
Herstellungsleitung: Corina Ziller, Claire Lion
Redaktion ZDF/3sat: Udo Bremer
Producerin: Kornelia Theune
Koproduzenten: Pierre-Olivier Bardet, Gérald Collas
Produzent: Thomas Kufus

eine Produktion der zero one film in Koproduktion mit Idéale Audience, INA und ZDF/3Sat,
gefördert von der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und die Medien, FFA Filmförderungsanstalt,
Medienboard Berlin-Brandenburg, DFFF, Centre National du Cinéma